MG College iritty

More than 400 students from various College under Kannur University participated  in the ‘Mazha Yatra’ (Rain Walk) held under the aegis of College NSS Unit, along the Wynad Ghat Road.  The event was Flagged off by Principal Dr.M.J.Mathew at Boys Town at 10.30 a.m. on July 21.  The participants covered 10 k.m. ghat Road with seven hair pin curves on Foot until they reached Kottiyoor the Final point around 2 p.m.  The students rallied behind the NSS  banners carrying placards stressing the need to conserve the environment.  The NSS Programme officers – Dr.Shijo.M.Joseph (M.G.College-Iritty) Fr.Martin (Nirmalagiri College) Thomas (De Paul College) Nithin Kuttan (Don Bosco College) lead the contingent.

The Bhoomithra Sena (Environment Club) of Mahatma Gandhi College, in association with Green Leaf, Iritty organized Third Inter Collegiate Green Quiz on 21st July, 2017 to commemorate ‘Chandea Dinam’.   Twenty eight teams from various Colleges affiliated to Kannur University participated.  Dr.M.J.Mathew, Principal inaugurated the programme.  Sri.Abdul Gafoor.M., Chairman, Green Leaf  presided over the meeting.  Sri.Rajeesh.E. and Mrs.Priyanka.P., officers of Bhoomithra Sena spoke on the occasion.  The following winners  were awarded with cash prize and mementos :

Ist prize                -        Nirmalagiri College, Kuthuparamba

IInd Prize              -        Mary matha College, Mananthavady

IIIrd Prize              -        Don Bosco Arts and Science College, Angadikadavu

           All teams were awarded with participation certificates in the award ceremony which was attended by officials from Green Lean and the Head of the Departments of Mahatma Gandhi College.  The programme was widely appreciated as informative and entertaining with the focus  on spreading proper ecological awareness among students.

Mahatma Gandhi College, now in its 22nd year of completion with the prestigious possession of securing ‘A’ Grade by NAAC in the first cycle of accreditation itself, celebrated Foundation Day and Merit Day’  on 13th July 2017.   Foundation Day was in honour of the Yeoman service rendered by the selfless pioneers whose dreams and efforts led to the present development of the College in forms of infrastructural facilities and academic excellence.  Students who secured University top positions and highest grades in the recently published results and those who achieved success in national level entrance examinations were presented with mementos and cash awards.  26 endowments, instituted in the name of late Sri.K.P.Noorudheen Sahib, the founder Manager of the College, were also distributed.  Dr.M.J.Mathew Principal, welcomed the gathering and Adv.Sunny Joseph MLA, Manager of the College presided over.  Sri. Mir Muhammed Ali, IAS, District Collector, was the Chief Guest.  Sri.C.S.Sebastian, Prof.M.A.H.Khan, former Principal, Sri.Surendran.P., Sri.Pramod Kumar.K.V., Dr.Reji Paikkattu, Dr.Devadhasan.K.V., Sri.Saraschandran.K., Dr.Shijo.M.Joseph, Sri.Vinod.M.K. and Sri.Valsaraj.K. spoke on the occasion.  Dr.Bijumon.R. expressed vote of thanks.

In order to provide proper guidelines regarding the scope and possibilities of the degree programme, an orientation programme for the first year students and their parents was conducted on 12th July 2017 under the auspices of Student Welfare Cell in the College auditorium.  Dr.M.J.Mathew, Principal inaugurated the programme by inviting five students from the freshers to light the lamp as an innovative gesture of reciprocity and well being of all the stakeholders.  General Orientation was  given by the Principal and session on ‘Credit and Semester System’ was engaged by Prof.Meppayil Narayanan, Mrs.Reshma.P.K., Asst. Professor in Computer Science  and Co-Ordinator, Student Welfare Cell welcomed the gathering and Mrs.Priyanka.P., Asst. Professor in Mathematics proposed vote of thanks.  Dr.Ajitha.V., HOD, Mathematics, Dr.Devadhasan.K.V., HOD, Physics, Dr.Shijo.M.Joseph, HOD Computer Science  and Sri.Saraschandran.K., HOD, Commerce were present on the occasion.  The orientation programme was followed by Department wise PTSA meetings.  

Page 1 of 20